top of page

Chakras are centers of energy in the human body

Updated: Jun 12

Chakras are centers of energy in the human body according to Hindu and Buddhist traditions.

illustration of seated person with chakra locations

There are seven main chakras, each associated with specific physical, emotional, and spiritual functions:

  1. Root Chakra (Muladhara): Located at the base of the spine, linked to survival and grounding.

  2. Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana): Below the navel, related to creativity and sexual energy.

  3. Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura): Stomach area, connected to personal power and confidence.

  4. Heart Chakra (Anahata): Center of the chest, governs love and compassion.

  5. Throat Chakra (Vishuddha): Throat, associated with communication.

  6. Third Eye Chakra (Ajna): Forehead, linked to intuition and insight.

  7. Crown Chakra (Sahasrara): Top of the head, related to spirituality and enlightenment.

These chakras are believed to influence various aspects of physical and emotional well-being, and practices like meditation, yoga, and Reiki are used to balance them.

When chakras are balanced and open, energy flows freely, promoting overall well-being. Imbalances or blockages in these energy centers are thought to contribute to physical ailments, emotional disturbances, and mental stress. Practices like meditation, yoga, and Reiki aim to balance chakras, which can lead to improved health, reduced stress, and enhanced spiritual growth.

rainbow colored chart showing the chakra names, location, symbols and description.

3 views0 comments


bottom of page